UPDATE: Read the latest update regarding our response to the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) situation. READ MORE.  

Good Sport Rachel Takes Out Top Award

Today local Palmerston resident and volunteer Rachel Fosdick was awarded the 2019 Club Champion Award as part of the National Good Sports Awards held in Canberra.  

The awards recognise the inspiring clubs and passionate volunteers who are committed to making their communities the best they can be. 

Rachel’s contribution to the Palmerston basketball community, and her role in establishing the Palmerston and Regional Basketball Association, has opened doors for young people, people with mobility issues, seniors and those living remotely the opportunity to compete and be part of the Palmerston basketball community. 

Good Sports clubs are community champions shaping bright futures on and off the field, by creating healthier, more family-friendly environments where everyone feels welcome.

Rachel has worked tirelessly in sourcing external funding, such as sponsorship from local businesses, to help fund basketball programs which promote social inclusion. This dedication has led to the success of the Youth Drop-in Sports Program, which sees over 250 Palmerston children ‘drop in’ to the Palmerston Recreation Centre each week, utilising the space as a place of safety, activity and social engagement. Rachel is also an active representative on several youth and community focused working groups within Palmerston.

City of Palmerston Chief Executive Officer Luccio Cercarelli, who travelled to Canberra to support Rachel, said “Rachael has done so much for the Palmerston community, she volunteers close to seven days a week to ensure young people in the community are happy, healthy and socially engaged.”

“Rachel is an inspiring and worthy winner. Her work in the Palmerston community is making a difference to so many young people. We look forward to continuing to support her and the good work she does in the community into the future.”

Rachel also won the NT Sports Volunteer 2019 award earlier this year.