Palmerston has twelve primary schools, two middle schools and three high school within the municipality. In addition, there are a number of high schools also located in the rural area and Berrimah.

Information and contact details for each of the schools can be found online at Northern Territory Schools.

2019 Term Dates
Term 1: 31 January - 11 April 
Term break: 11 April -  18 April
Term 2: 18 April - 27 June
Term break: 27 June - 18 July
Term 3: 18 July - 26 September 
Term break: 26 September - 7 October
Term 4: 7 October - 16 December

Source: Northern Territory Government Department of Education

Further information on schools can be found on the Northern Territory Government website.


Leading Northern Territory University, Charles Darwin University (CDU) has a campus within walking distance of Palmerston’s city centre, located on a picturesque man-made lake.

The leafy, people-orientated campus is a modern facility boasting a state-of-the-art library, an after hours learning precinct and a student lounge for all CDU students.

VET courses currently offered at the Palmerston campus include Tourism, Hospitality and Recreation, Hair, Beauty and Retail, Culinary Arts (Commercial Cookery and Bakery), Information and Communication Technology, Spoken and Written English.

For more information on Charles Darwin University including courses offered, enrollment dates and fees, visit the CDU website.